Amber Teething Necklace No-Sew Safety Harness

My very first harness!

My very first harness!

I guess I’m one of those crunchy moms who buys magic beads to keep their babies from feeling pain.  I’m not ready to weigh in on whether or not amber teething necklaces really work, but my daughter has one.  And it’s HUGE on her.

An amber teething necklace is made from baltic amber beads and supposedly works by releasing an analgesic when warmed by body heat.

I wasn’t comfortable with placing a choking hazard on her neck, especially one that she could easily chew on (counter-intuitively, you aren’t supposed to chew these teething necklaces).  But I also wanted to do everything possible to make teething an easy process for my child.

To make her necklace as safe as possible I created a safety harness from scraps of polar fleece and Kam snaps.  I realize that not EVERYONE has a Kam snap press and Kam snaps (but c’mon, they should) so I also created a super accessible version with just a onesie and some scissors. Bam. You could also make it out of fleece and sew buttons or metal snaps.

Personally I love the fleece version as it is easier to clean, easier to take on and off, and best of all provides Drool Protection.

Easy Peasy Onesie Harness Hack

DSCF5668Step 1: Cut the bottom off a onesie. If you’re like me, your baby grows out of onesies butt first (gotta love those fluffy cloth diaper bums!) so you’ll have a lot of suitable onesies just begging to be chopped!

DSCF5669Step 2: Cut pairs of slits around the back , shoulders, and front of the onesie.  You’ll be threading the necklace through these so use your necklace as a template for size.

DSCF5673Step 3: Thread the necklace through, keeping the majority of the necklace on the inside! That’s really it! Leave it open until you put it on your baby, then fasten it.

DSCF5687Bam.

Snapping Fleece Harness

DSCF5678Step 1: Using a onesie for a rough template, cut neck, front slit and shoulders from a rectangle of fleece.  You will want to leave room to fold over your fleece and attach the snaps as double layers hold up better.

DSCF5690Step 2: Add snaps!  You’ll  want snaps under each armpit and 2-3 snaps down the front

KIMG0627Step 3: Add pairs of slits on the back, shoulders, and front.  Then you’re ready to thread the necklace through (keeping most of it close to the skin), fasten the necklace around baby’s neck and snap up!

And whoops, I didn’t get a finished shot of the Sunshine harness so here’s my very first harness instead!

Leave a Reply

